“I’ll Always Be Against”: Yegor Letov’s Legacy

Punk is rarely as dangerous as it believes. Yet Siberian punk-saint Yegor Letov lived a dangerous & precarious existence. Leader of the seminal Grazhdanskaya Oborona (Civil Defense) and later, Yegor and the Fuck-Ups, he was officially declared a “social parasite” by the Soviet regime, institutionalized at various points, and spent years on the run from authorities checking work permits. Old age and the fall of the Soviet Union did not lesson his rage: in his final years, he aligned himself with the maybe ironic/maybe not National Bolshevik Party. Punks and cultural historians often don’t know what to make of his legacy. Letov’s response? “I’ll always be against.”

I’ll Always Be Against

 for Yegor Letov

 

Слушай меня! At 50 below, your body longs for death. Add Omsk’s radioactive rain and you begin to understand that living’s abnormal. In a cityscape filled with portraits of Stalin and his pet moustache, one’s survival becomes a freak accident.

So get freaky as fuck! Блядь! I got more than a frog in my throat. ёбаный в рот!  I got more than phlegm in my gullet. пизде́ц!  I got a childhood of memorized Lenin lessons to spew. су́ка!

My guitar notes scurry into ears like cockroaches upholstered in shag carpeting. Folks thrash their skulls, trying to eject the parasites. All for naught!

Burn all utopias to keep warm! Я срать на все!

 

Russian to English Glossary:

Слушай меня! (slushay myenya!)–> Listen to me!

Блядь! (blyat!)–> Whore!

пизде́ц! (pizdets!)–> Deep shit!

ёбаный в рот! (yobany v rot!)–> Fucked in the mouth!

су́ка! (suka!)–> Little bitch!

Я срать на все! (ya srat na vse!)à I shit on everything!

 

Leave a Reply

